…and nothing’s changed, I’m afraid. And I AM afraid. Still depressed, still lonely, getting more and more sure that this life needs to change one way or another. Too chicken shit to walk away from my marriage because what if it doesn’t get any better than this?
C has a tendency to crack himself open wide on the socials and pour forth all the inner turmoil and emotion. I’m so envious because I want to be able to do that, but I couldn’t possibly because I’d get all kinds of folks freaking out. C, on the other hand, can do it without fear because their people are used to it. I guess I do it here where no one will find it, right? It’s so cathartic in some ways. I wish I could draw the images and emotions or take the time when alone to write the songs that describe this brand of tumult. And then I could post it somewhere that strangers could see it and follow along But it’s too late for all that.
Of late, I’ve been thinking about what it would be like to start a new life, how scary that would be. I don’t know that I could survive it. I told C that one of my biggest fears is that I’d never find another Them in the world. There is no way there is another one. Yet where they fit me, I don’t fit them. I get it, and it’s totally fine. Whenever I have this train of thought, I always seem to follow that with a stern, “Well, if it gets too bad, I can just unalive myself.” I’ve had a good life. I’ve been moderately fulfilled, more than I likely deserve anyhow. It’d be fine. My parents are gone, so I wouldn’t have to worry about that sadness. My “friends” would be sad for a few minutes, but then they could just move on. There wouldn’t really be anything missing for anyone. I fuck up at work all the time, so my team would be relieved of that, so that might be good, and all my heart aches would go away, both physio and psycho. I still need to go on our October roadtrip, though, so I can’t bail just yet. I suspect that would be the last thing on my list, so we’ll see how it goes. Then I wouldn’t have to deal with this awful depression, the inconvenient anxiety, the hormonal chaos that has me losing my hair, the fucking weight loss drugs, the heart issues that will already shorten my life, the terrible loneliness, the ADHD, the not-so-graceful aging, the super unsexy sleep apnea, and did I mention the depression?
I wish someone would just tell me what to do.
